A great way to turn thirty.

Wow! I am not sure I have ever been this exhausted. Usually that would be a bad thing, but in my current case it actually feels really good.

MVGuam, Sunday Variety, illusdreted, nezumi

I started off my last week as a twenty-something, as the Q&A feature in the Sunday Variety. If you haven’t seen the Sunday Variety you have to pick it up next Sunday! It’s a great paper with really fun articles about people and activities in our community. I was featured because I was coming out as the editorial cartoonist for the Marianas Variety. For the last few weeks I’ve been the artist behind the cartoons signed Nezumi. At first I was reluctant to make it known that I was Nezumi. Our island is really small and I’m still trying to develop the thick skin my mom keeps telling me I need. Again, our island is small and I didn’t really have a choice about coming out. People were guessing. At that point I thought I should just own it. So I did with the help of the Sunday Variety’s editor and talented local artist, Mar-Vic Cagurangan. She asked some serious questions and some seriously fun questions. Overall, I’m more than pleased and grateful for the article.

I’m a horrible procrastinator and control freak. This makes for a really bad combination. Come Monday I was rushing around with Allan running errands for the opening of my solo exhibit, IllusDREted. The guy at the frame shop straight up asked me why I waited so long to turn in my pieces to be matted and shrink wrapped. They are amazing though. Even though it was the last minute, they got my pieces ready for me in time for the show. I was again lucky when I decided to try out a different printer, to have some of my artwork reproduced for prints. I went to the place in Hagåtña, that came with many recommendations. The staff was so helpful, even though I was crazy indecisive about everything, from which pieces I wanted reproduced to which paper I wanted them printed on. They turned out great and I will definitely be going back there.

Because I am crazy, I decided I wanted all the frames for my pieces to be white. Because I am broke, I bought all the frames at the two dollar shop and convinced Allan to spray paint them all white. After work on Tuesday I nearly had a panic attack trying to get all the pieces in the frames with out peeling the freshly dried paint. It worked out and we were hanging the art work by 10 p.m.

illusdreted, guam art, Guma TASA

photo courtesy of Marvic Cagurangan

The tags and the pieces from the frame shop didn’t go up until 4 p.m. the day of the show. An hour before the opening I was sitting with Allan and my parents, having dinner and wondering if anyone would show up. It was actually kind of nice having that quiet time to reflect and calm my nerves a bit. And then they started showing up, slowly at first. And then, Bam! As the coffee shop started to make it’s daily metamorphosis into a bar the place started to fill up with people from all different parts of my life. My closest friends mingled with my coworkers. The people I cherish from my days bartending were chatting it up with my friends in the arts community. And my family, including my 3 nephews, were able to come through and enjoy the show. There was so much love in the room.

And did I mention the band? R&R was amazing! And they play at Guma TASA every Wednesday night. I think my eldest nephew, a Rock Star in training, was more stoked on the band than on my show.

I feel like the opening night was successful. People had fun with the art activity and I sold some prints. I actually still have some prints for sale. They are 8″x10″ and are $10 each. There are 3 different ones and if you would like to buy a set it is $28 for three. I am working on an Etsy shop, but until I get that up I can deliver and collect payment locally or send you a Paypal invoice and ship it to you. It will be $5 for shipping and handling. You can email me at drea_nicole@yahoo.com if you’re interested. If you go to the show and see an original you would like to purchase let me know.

illusdreted, guam, illustration

Want to see more pictures of opening night? Check out Creative Indeed. The talented and inspirational Michele Pier covered the show for her newsletter. I’ll be posting more pictures soon, too.


I’ve been working on this blog post since the day after opening night, but I’ve been so busy that it has taken me this long to wrap it up. There was more I wanted to add to this post, but since I have other things that also deserve posts I decided not to drag it out. So much happening and so much I want to share. I can’t keep up with it. But that will be another post on getting organized and time management. 😛

 

4 responses to “A great way to turn thirty.

  1. That’s awesome to be featured in the news. I bet your mom framed it.

    Like

  2. Congratulations on your art show and your press interview! It sounds like lots of exciting things are happening in your life!

    Like

Leave a Reply

