Summer art program for Guam’s teens

20140625-144755.jpg

Check out the awesome work that the students in my DIY class did. We made pop up cards for our 3rd class. Previously we made 2 different kinds of book marks and wall decals. This last week we are working on photo booth props. So far it has been a lot of fun getting to know my students and building on their interests and abilities. I hope that they’ve had as much fun and learned as much as I have.

Today is our last DIY class, but next week a new session begins and I’ll be teaching illustration. I’m really looking forward to it! I have so many activities planned!

There is still time to sign up your teens up for the program. You can pick an up an application at Guma TASA in Mangilao or you can contact them on Facebook for more information.

2 responses to “Summer art program for Guam’s teens

  1. Wow that’s really cool! I would have loved to have something like this to do, when I was a kid. 🙂 Great work!

    Like

    • Thank you! I know what you mean. The only summer program I was involved in as a kid was a reading program at the library. That was fun too, but I would’ve loved an art program. They also had classes on jewelry making and drawing, this session. They were taught food safety, made cookies, salads, and sandwiches. And they got to go on field trips! They went to visit the Duk Duk Goose studio, where Nihi, the children’s t.v. Show is filmed. They went to DFS to learn about the local artist program. And they’ll be going to the Mariana’s Variety office this week. It is an amazing experience for them. All of that in just one 2 week session.

      Like

Leave a Reply

