WOW! an art exhibit for children and their families – throughout November

an art exhibit for children and their

This past Friday we opened an exhibit for children and their families, at the CAHA gallery. The exhibit will be up throughout November, so even if you missed the opening, there is still time to visit the exhibit.

WOW! is something that has been brewing in my head for a while now. So earlier this year when Mark, from CAHA, called to see if I wanted to exhibit, I knew exactly what I wanted to do. I got a hold of some local artists, with work that would be fun and appropriate, and asked if they’d like to contribute to a show for children.

There were a few moments, during the weeks before the exhibit, that I thought I was going to go completely crazy. I would get overwhelmed and doubt my ability to pull it all together. Then one day, I was going through some pictures on my computer, trying to find a decent one for my bio, and I came across the folders that had pictures from events I had done with children. “Oh yeah! That’s why I’m doing this. And they are sooooo worth it!” So a very special thank you goes out to all the kids I have had the privilege of working with.

Many thanks also to the contributing artists of WOW!  They are Allan Arriola, Andrew Gulac, Baltazar Bell, Carol Rockets, Clarissa Torres, Colleen Weller, Dean Blas, Evan Cabrera, John Bermudes, Lucas Storts, and Myracle Mugol.

And thank you to our exhibit supporters Pika’s Cafe, Jamaican Grill, Mariana’s Variety – Guam Edition, Payless Supermarkets, Mary Therese Edgerle, the board and staff of the Guam Council on the Arts and Humanities, and the Grajek family.

Here is a collage my cousin, Marie, made featuring some of her favorite pieces.

rie-collage

And, here is a screen shot of the Sunday Variety article on WOW!

sunday variety

 

I’ll be posting more about WOW!, the opening, and the artists in the coming weeks. So stay tuned for that.

2 responses to “WOW! an art exhibit for children and their families – throughout November

  1. Thanks for sharing! I’ve heard so much about this. I’ll have to check it out one of these days!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

