RDTD: A Grajek childhood favorite

“One with a light.

One with a stick.

One with a rope.”

The Berenstain Bears and the Spooky Old Tree is book that my parents read to my brother when he is was really young. Before he could read he had memorized the story enough that he could “read” it to them. When I was born, eight years later, it was passed on to me. And my parents and my brother would read it to me. When my oldest nephew was born we would all take turns reading it to him. And he would “read” it to us. When the younger boys were born the book was falling apart from love. So a brand new Berenstain Bears and the Spooky Old Tree was purchased for them.

I’m not exactly sure why this was THE book that became the Grajek childhood favorite. Maybe because it was about family, adventure, and home. It’s a bit of a reminder that when things get spooky it will always be okay, because we have each other, family, to come home to.

image

What was your favorite book as a child? Are there any books in your family that have been passed down?

4 responses to “RDTD: A Grajek childhood favorite

  1. Oh my goodness! My son loves this book! We have read it three gazillion times and counting!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hehe. It is a great book. Reading anything that much gets tiring though. We used it try to trick my nephew by skipping pages. He caught on pretty quickly though. He’s a freshman in high school now and he still has a love for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Spooky Old Tree was a fav in my family too. Whenever it said, “and one with the shivers!” my mom would tickle us. I had a copy when I taught ESL kindergarten in Taiwan and it was a class favorite there too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

