Green Inspiration In Illustration

picsart_11-30-08.47.04.png

I’ve been obsessing about house plants for the last few months or so. It started with an article I read about how having plants in your work space can increase productivity. I read that a long time ago. Since I read that article, I had been trying to bring in plants. It didn’t work out to well, until recently.

I started my collection with just the elephant ears and bamboo in one water filled vase . They surprisingly thrived. And so did the mosquitoes that were nesting in my beautiful mini water garden. Gross. Allan wanted me to get rid of the plants. I compromised. I moved the bamboo into an old glass 7UP bottle. The narrow bottle neck took care of the mosquito problem while keeping the bamboo in water. I moved the elephant ears in to a Jack Daniel’s Coffee tin with dirt I snagged from a plant outside.

Since then, I’ve found more containers to fill with dirt and plants from our yard. I even bought a little plant from Home Depot. That was a disappointment though. It brought aphids with it. Thankfully I caught it before it turned into a furry white epidemic spreading to my precious boonie plants. Even after saving it from the aphids the poor little guy shriveled in to a sad pile. I probably should’ve changed out the soil and gave it some of the love filled local dirt.

picsart_12-12-12.51.43.jpg

Elephant ears are definitely my favorite. I love the huge leaves. I also love these neni leaves that I can grow in itty bitty jars, like the one above. Most of the plants are in the living room of my apartment. I keep the bamboo and the small elephant ears in my art space though. The coffee tin elephant ears outgrew their spot in the studio – from 2 leaves to 4 going on 5.

I’m not sure if the indoor plant life has increased my productivity, but the plants have been an inspiration. They’ve been showing up in my art and doodles a lot.

Do you have any tips for keeping houseplants happy and healthy? What are your favorite house plants? I’d love to hear if about it.

Leave a Reply

